Skip to main content

Graduate Students

  • Marwa Abdalla

    Marwa Abdalla

    mabdalla@ucsd.edu
    Research interests: Media, Critical Muslim Studies, Islamophobia, Racism and Racialization
    https://sites.google.com/view/marwa-abdalla/home
    www.ispu.org/journalists
  • Ben Berners-Lee

    Ben Berners-Lee

    dberners@ucsd.edu

    Research Interests: semiotics, metaphor, cognitive science, ethnography, phenomenology, machine learning, care work.

  • Taylor Brough

    Taylor Brough

    tbrough@ucsd.edu
  • C. Abby Bratton

    C. Abby Bratton

    Research Interests: bioethics, communication of emergent biotechnologies, science fiction/speculative worldbuilding, biomedical/tissue engineering, genetics as storytelling, narrative accessibility, science policy/STS, synthetic/astro/marine/conservation biology, poetics/hermeneutics
  • Tony Hyunduck Cho

    Tony Hyunduck Cho

    Contact: t1cho@ucsd.edu
    Science Studies Program
    Research Interests: Anthropology of technological acceleration, design after acceleration, “slow futures,” material design, environmental justice and social inequality in design, critical data studies
  • Googie (Marion) Daniels

    Googie (Marion) Daniels

    medaniel@ucsd.edu

    Transdisciplinary Disability Studies Graduate Student Co-Coordinator Research Interests: deaf communities, American Sign Languages, US disability legislation and policy, bi/multilingualism, linguistic colonialism, accessibility, intersectionality.

  • Magdalena Donea

    Magdalena Donea

    mdonea@ucsd.edu
    Science Studies Program
    Eugene V. Cota-Robles Fellow
    Research Interests: visual culture and lived experience of disaster and displacement; critical disaster and critical infrastructure studies, STS; time and temporalities of disaster; media archaeology; digital humanities; critical data studies.
  • Ignacio Evans

    Ignacio Evans

    ivevans@ucsd.edu
  • Dana Ekhitar

    Dana Ekhitar

    Research interests: Critical Media Studies, Postcolonial Theory, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Migration and Asylum Studies
  • Carmel Farzaneh

    Carmel Farzaneh

    cfarzane@ucsd.edu
  • Asia Feiss

    Asia Feiss

    afeiss@ucsd.edu
    Science Studies Program
    Research Interests: assistive, and wearable technologies for high-performance athletes, ability
  • Rachel Fox

    Rachel Fox

    rafox@ucsd.edu
    Science Studies Program
    Critical Gender Studies Program
    Transdisciplinary Disability Studies Graduate Student Coordinator
    Research Interests: Fat Studies, Disability Studies, STS, Narrative Medicine/Health Humanities, Feminist Studies, Online Communities
    rachelefox.com

  • Keli L Gabinelli

    Keli L Gabinelli

    Contact: kgabinelli@ucsd.edu
    Research interests: Housing, property technologies, suburbia, the nuclear family
  •  Sam Gaffney

    Sam Gaffney

    sjgaffney@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: Coal, extractivism, labor and labor history, environmentalism and environmental justice, techno-idealism, infrastructure
  • Gray Golding

    Gray Golding

    Research interests: history of architecture, disability studies, critical whiteness studies, settler colonialism studies, history of medicine
  • Eva Marie Gonzalez Ruskiewicz

    Eva Marie Gonzalez Ruskiewicz

    eruskiew@ucsd.edu
    Research interests: Queer and trans studies; popular music and sound studies; performance studies
  • Aaron Gozum

    Aaron Gozum

    Research Interests: art, activism, cultural studies, epistemology, ethnic studies, globalization, violence
  • Anvar Hassanpour

    Anvar Hassanpour

    ahassanpour@ucsd.edu
  • Keven Hernandez

    Keven Hernandez

    kehernan@ucsd.edu
  • Dorothy Howard

    Dorothy Howard

    dhoward@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: cognitive and material aspects of participation and work in information societies, post(de)colonial critiques of information production, social computing, feminist research methodologies, information activism, syndicalism, the history of volunteering, archives, and contemporary and digital art practices.
    dorothyhoward.com
  • Ramal L. Johnson

    Ramal L. Johnson

    rljohnson@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: Studying superhero media and implementing ethnography, ethnology, deconstructive reflexivity, critical race theory, and epistemology and axiology from anthropological standpoints.
  • Kerry Keith

    Kerry Keith

    kekeith@ucsd.edu
    Critical Gender Studies Program
    Research interests: critical geography; prison abolition; environmental toxicity; infrastructure
  • Sookyong Ko

    Sookyong Ko

    sok105@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: Media theory, phenomenology, visual culture, visual semiotics, cultural studies, affect theory, emotional and sensual aspects of media interaction, theories on evolving media and human perception of information.
  • Julia Kott

    Julia Kott

    jkott@ucsd.edu
    Science Studies Program
    Research interests: accessibility, digital classrooms, instructional design, surveillance technologies, histories of technologies, subjectivities, online proctoring and other forms of watching.
  • Olga Lazitski

    Olga Lazitski

    okovalev@ucsd.edu
    Keywords: media endarkenment, alternative professional journalism, journalistic norms, journalistic practices, ideology of objectivity, media systems, hybrid regimes, authoritarianism, propaganda, public spheres, populism, nationalism, ethnography, discourse analysis, situational analysis, grounded theory
    mediaendarkenment.com
  • Grant Leuning

    Grant Leuning

    gleuning@ucsd.edu

  • Yazhou Liu

    Yazhou Liu

    lyazhou@ucsd.edu

  • Kathryne Metcalf

    Kathryne Metcalf

    kymetcal@ucsd.edu
    Science Studies Program
    Research Interests: (post)genomics, biomedicine, tissue economies, critical data studies, privacy and health data, surveillance studies
  • Corey Metcalfe

    Corey Metcalfe

    cmetcalf@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests:  Analog & digital games; pop culture; online platforms
  • Loreto Montero

    Loreto Montero

    lomonter@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: the relationship between media images and collective memory about the last decade in Chilean society
  • Joseph Moreno

    Joseph Moreno

    j8moreno@ucsd.edu

  • Teresa Naval

    Teresa Naval

    tnaval@ucsd.edu
    Science Studies Program

  • Lindsey Ortega

    Lindsey Ortega

    leortega@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: anti-imperialism, climate justice, decolonizing epistemologies, food sovereignty, mutual aid, revolutionary socialism, U.S. hegemony

  • Erika Ramirez-Mayoral

    Erika Ramirez-Mayoral

    emr015@ucsd.edu
    Critical Gender Studies Program
    Research Interests: Gendered Notions of Place and Placemaking, Rural Studies, Oral History Practices, Development and Infrastructure
  • Nithyanand Rao

    Nithyanand Rao

    nnrao@ucsd.edu
    Science Studies Program
    Research Interests:  Science-state-publics relations, Journalism studies, History of particle physics in India
     https://nithyanandrao.github.io/
  • Vandhana Ravi

    Vandhana Ravi

    vravi@ucsd.edu

  • Pepe Rojo

    Pepe Rojo

    jjrojo@ucsd.edu

  • Paula Santa Rosa Siqueira Mendes

    Paula Santa Rosa Siqueira Mendes

    psantaro@ucsd.edu

  • Akshita Sivakumar

    Akshita Sivakumar

    asivakum@ucsd.edu
    Science Studies Program
    Research Interests: Simulations and 3D modeling practices | diffuse objects | representation and situated practices in interdisciplinary design | indeterminacy | participatory design technology | f/open source software for creative production | visual and material culture | feminist technoscience
    akshitasivakumar.com
  • Lian Song

    Lian Song

    lhsong@ucsd.edu
    Science Studies Program

  • Sophie Staschus

    Sophie Staschus

    sstaschu@ucsd.edu
    Science Studies Program

     

  • Veronica Uribe del Aguila

    Veronica Uribe del Aguila

    vuribede@ucsd.edu
    Science Studies Program
    Feminist Labor Lab
    Research Interests: intersection between critical geography, design, labor, and feminist/ decolonial STS
    veronicauribea.com
  • Elisabeth Wiering

    Elisabeth Wiering

    ewiering@ucsd.edu

  • Nicoletta Vangelisti

    Nicoletta Vangelisti

    nvangelisti@ucsd.edu
    Critical Gender Studies Program
    Artist and digital entertainment producer
    Senior Teaching Assistant
    Research Interests: Political economy of art philanthropy, media making as resistance, critical gender studies, decolonial art practice, antiracist methodologies, ethics of storytelling, institutional ethnography, transgender studies
    nicolettavangelisti.com
  • Ifsha Zehra

    Ifsha Zehra

    Research Interests: Visual Anthropology, Ethnography, Images and Visual Culture, Political Conflict, Militarization, Violence, Gender, Intersectionality, Decoloniality, Memory/Memorialization, Archives, South Asia (particularly Kashmir).
  • Linnea Zeiner

    Linnea Zeiner

    lzeiner@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: grunge, punk, Mixed Reality Pedagogy/Design, Digital Humanities Pedagogy/Design, girls’ studies, Sci-fi/Pop Dystopias, 19th-20th Century U.S. History
    linneazeiner.com