Skip to main content

Graduate Students

  • Marwa Abdalla

    Marwa Abdalla

    Contact: mabdalla@ucsd.edu
  • Christina Aushana

    Christina Aushana

    caushana@ucsd.edu

  • Ben Berners-Lee

    Ben Berners-Lee

    dberners@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: social and cultural histories of conceptual metaphors, content analysis, metaphors in popular science publications
  • Taylor Brough

    Taylor Brough

    Contact: tbrough@ucsd.edu
  • Sean Canzone

    Sean Canzone

    scanzone@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: processes of cultural breakdown and extreme isolation, structural and existential practices of escape, digital media. 
  • Kim Clark

    Kim Clark

    kmclark@ucsd.edu
    San Diego Fellow
    Freida Daum Urey Fellow
    Research Interests: cultural and knowledge production and exchange, mass incarceration, police brutality, and the detention and deportation of im\migrants, intercultural and international grassroots community-building and self-advocacy efforts involving digital and static media.

     

  • Thomas Conner

    Thomas Conner

    tconner@ucsd.edu
    Science Studies Program
    Research Interests: cultural histories and media effects of holograms and hologram simulations.
    thomasconner.info

  • Googie Daniels

    Googie Daniels

    medaniel@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: D/deaf communities; American Sign Language; design; accessibility; DeafSpace; universal design; media representation of under underrepresented groups; audience research; cultural Deafness; medical intervention on deaf children; bilingualism

  • Magdalena Donea

    Magdalena Donea

    Contact: mdonea@ucsd.edu
    Science Studies Program
    Eugene V. Cota-Robles Fellow
    Research interests: Phenomenology and sense/knowledge of place and placelessness. Communication as embodied and emplaced, situated practice. Surveillance and critical data studies. Spatial knowledges, critical mapping, disaster, dispossession and displacement.
  • Alex Edelstein

    Alex Edelstein

    aedelste@ucsd.edu
    Critical Gender Studies Program

  • Carmel Farzaneh

    Carmel Farzaneh

    Contact: cfarzane@ucsd.edu
  • Ignacio Evans

    Ignacio Evans

    Contact: ivevans@ucsd.edu
  • Asia Feiss

    Asia Feiss

    afeiss@ucsd.edu
    Science Studies Program
    Research Interests: assistive, and wearable technologies for high-performance athletes, ability
  • Patricia Flores

    Patricia Flores

    p1flores@ucsd.edu
    Strategic Enhancement of Excellence through Diversity (SEED) Fellow
    Research Interests: Disability Studies, STS, HOH-d/Deaf identity, American Sign Language, online communities and visual culture
  • Rachel Fox

    Rachel Fox

    rafox@ucsd.edu
    Science Studies Program
    Critical Gender Studies Program
    Transdisciplinary Disability Studies Graduate Student Coordinator
    Research Interests: Fat Studies, Disability Studies, STS, Narrative Medicine/Health Humanities, Feminist Studies, Online Communities
    rachelefox.com

  •  Sam Gaffney

    Sam Gaffney

    sjgaffney@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: Coal, extractivism, labor and labor history, environmentalism and environmental justice, techno-idealism, infrastructure
  • Yelena Gluzman

    Yelena Gluzman

    egluzman@ucsd.edu
    Science Studies Program
    Interdisciplinary Cognitive Science Program 

     

  • Eva Gonzalez-Ruskiewicz

    Eva Gonzalez-Ruskiewicz

    Contact: eruskiew@ucsd.edu
  • Angelo Haidaris

    Angelo Haidaris

    anhaidar@ucsd.edu
    Science Studies Program

  • Jacob Hellman

    Jacob Hellman

    jhellman@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: the cultural nexus of accumulation and the creation of new economic subjectivities and the popularization of early-stage startup investing.
  • Keven Hernandez

    Keven Hernandez

    Contact: kehernan@ucsd.edu
  • Dorothy Howard

    Dorothy Howard

    dhoward@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: cognitive and material aspects of participation and work in information societies, post(de)colonial critiques of information production, social computing, feminist research methodologies, information activism, syndicalism, the history of volunteering, archives, and contemporary and digital art practices.
    dorothyhoward.com
  • Kerry Keith

    Kerry Keith

    kekeith@ucsd.edu
    Critical Gender Studies Program
    Research Interests: U.S systems of incarceration, carceral geographies, queer and feminist theories, biopolitics, and Marxism, prison abolitionism, the interplay of ideology, imagination, and landscape
  • Jungyoung Kim

    Jungyoung Kim

    juk028@ucsd.edu

  • Sookyong Ko

    Sookyong Ko

    sok105@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: Media theory, phenomenology, visual culture, visual semiotics, cultural studies, affect theory, emotional and sensual aspects of media interaction, theories on evolving media and human perception of information.
  • Olga Lazitski Torres

    Olga Lazitski Torres

    okovalev@ucsd.edu
    Media scholar and journalist studying media endarkenment - the process of media influence by which the intellectual level of media consumers and the number of informed citizens decrease.
    mediaendarkenment.com
  • Andrew Lee

    Andrew Lee

    a9lee@ucsd.edu

  • Grant Leuning

    Grant Leuning

    gleuning@ucsd.edu

  • Yazhou Liu

    Yazhou Liu

    lyazhou@ucsd.edu

  • Kathryne Metcalf

    Kathryne Metcalf

    kymetcal@ucsd.edu
    Science Studies Program
    Research Interests: public science and the culture industry, popular conceptions of human genomics, biomedicalization. 
  • Corey Metcalfe

    Corey Metcalfe

    cmetcalf@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests:  Analog & digital games; pop culture; online platforms
  • Loreto Montero

    Loreto Montero

    lomonter@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: the relationship between media images and collective memory about the last decade in Chilean society
  • October Montoya

    October Montoya

    alj039@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: Transgressive change-making methodologies, new media, digital and corporeal activisms, surveillance studies, queer and trans poetry/poetics, feminist science and technology studies, social movements, resistance labor(s), and visual culture

  • Joseph Moreno

    Joseph Moreno

    j8moreno@ucsd.edu

  • Teresa Naval

    Teresa Naval

    tnaval@ucsd.edu
    Science Studies Program

  • Manel Palos

    Manel Palos

    mapalos@ucsd.edu

  • Erika Ramirez-Mayoral

    Erika Ramirez-Mayoral

    Contact: emr015@ucsd.edu
    Critical Gender Studies Program
    Research Interests: Gendered Notions of Place and Placemaking, Rural Studies, Oral History Practices, Development and Infrastructure
  • Nithyanand Rao

    Nithyanand Rao

    Contact: nnrao@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: the practice of science in contemporary India and how it influences, and is influenced by, hierarchies of various kinds. Also interested in how the narratives surrounding science and technology, especially in media coverage, influence our views of peoples, knowledges, and their histories.
    Personal website: https://nithyanandrao.github.io/
  • Alanna Reyes

    Alanna Reyes

    avr009@ucsd.edu
    Undergraduate Affairs Intern and Ph.D. Student
    Science Studies Program
    Research Interests: (dis)ability, technology, culture
    examples: technology in the media, superhero narratives and disability, transnational disability studies, digital game design & culture, learning/training via digital gaming, embodied storytelling, laboratory education and knowledge production
    alannareyes.com

  • Pepe Rojo

    Pepe Rojo

    jjrojo@ucsd.edu

  • Paula Santa Rosa Siqueira Mendes

    Paula Santa Rosa Siqueira Mendes

    psantaro@ucsd.edu

  • Akshita Sivakumar

    Akshita Sivakumar

    asivakum@ucsd.edu
    Science Studies Program
    Research Interests: Simulations and 3D modeling practices | diffuse objects | representation and situated practices in interdisciplinary design | indeterminacy | participatory design technology | f/open source software for creative production | visual and material culture | feminist technoscience
    akshitasivakumar.com
  • Sophie Staschus

    Sophie Staschus

    sstaschu@ucsd.edu
    Science Studies Program

     

  • Riley Taitingfong

    Riley Taitingfong

    rtaiting@ucsd.edu 
    Research Interests: community based participatory research (CBPR), health, indigenous knowledge, postcolonial theory, and disability studies, Pacific Islander communities in Southern California and their collaborate culturally-specific health interventions
  • Shaun Terry

    Shaun Terry

    shterry@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: cultural studies (Birmingham School and Frankfurt School), continental philosophy/critical theory, rituals and performance studies, visual culture, poetics, aesthesis/aesthetics, political economy, fascisms, autonomist political movements, vulnerability, memory, Walter Benjamin, Michel Foucault, Judith Butler
  • Nicholas Turner

    Nicholas Turner

    ndturner@ucsd.edu
    Artist, digital entertainment producer and an academic late bloomer.
    Research Interests: the structure and mechanics of power within corporate global entertainment, imagined utopian economies and geographies such as a decolonized, anti-racist, anti-discriminatory entertainment industry; post nation-state political organization, collective and indigenous rights, narrative ownership, and global development. 
  • Veronica Uribe del Aguila

    Veronica Uribe del Aguila

    vuribede@ucsd.edu
    Science Studies Program
    Feminist Labor Lab
    Research Interests:  intersection between critical geography, design, labor, and feminist/ decolonial STS
    veronicauribea.com
  • Jonathan Walton

    Jonathan Walton

    jwalton@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests:  institutions of social control, particularly in China, and their relationship to international discourses and practices of crisis management and policing.
  • Elisabeth Wiering

    Elisabeth Wiering

    ewiering@ucsd.edu

  • Linnea Zeiner

    Linnea Zeiner

    lzeiner@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: grunge, punk, Mixed Reality Pedagogy/Design, Digital Humanities Pedagogy/Design, girls’ studies, Sci-fi/Pop Dystopias, 19th-20th Century U.S. History