Skip to main content

Graduate Students

  • Christina Aushana

    Christina Aushana

    Contact: caushana@ucsd.edu

  • Ben Berners-Lee

    Ben Berners-Lee

    Contact: dberners@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: social and cultural histories of conceptual metaphors, content analysis, metaphors in popular science publications
  • Sean Canzone

    Sean Canzone

    Contact: scanzone@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: processes of cultural breakdown and extreme isolation, structural and existential practices of escape, digital media. 
  • Kim Clark

    Kim Clark

    San Diego Fellow
    Freida Daum Urey Fellow
    Research Interests: cultural and knowledge production and exchange, mass incarceration, police brutality, and the detention and deportation of im\migrants, intercultural and international grassroots community-building and self-advocacy efforts involving digital and static media.
    Contact: kmclark@ucsd.edu

     

  • Thomas Conner

    Thomas Conner

    Science Studies
    Research Interests: cultural histories and media effects of holograms and hologram simulations.
    Contact: tconner@ucsd.edu

    https://www.thomasconner.info/

  • Googie Daniels

    Googie Daniels

    Contact: medaniel@ucsd.edu

    Research Interests: D/deaf communities; American Sign Language; design; accessibility; DeafSpace; universal design; media representation of under underrepresented groups; audience research; cultural Deafness; medical intervention on deaf children; bilingualism

  • Magdalena Donea

    Magdalena Donea

    Contact: mdonea@ucsd.edu
  • Alex Edelstein

    Alex Edelstein

    Contact: aedelste@ucsd.edu

  • Asia Feiss

    Asia Feiss

    Contact: afeiss@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: assistive, and wearable technologies for high-performance athletes, ability
  • Patricia Flores

    Patricia Flores

    Strategic Enhancement of Excellence through Diversity (SEED) Fellow
    Contact: p1flores@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: Disability Studies, STS, HOH-d/Deaf identity, American Sign Language, online communities and visual culture
  • Rachel Fox

    Rachel Fox

    Year 4
    Transdisciplinary Disability Studies Graduate Student Coordinator
    Research Interests: Fat Studies, Disability Studies, STS, Narrative Medicine/Health Humanities, Feminist Studies, Online Communities
    Contact: rafox@ucsd.edu

    Website:  http://rachelefox.com/

  •  Sam Gaffney

    Sam Gaffney

    Contact: sjgaffney@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: Coal, extractivism, labor and labor history, environmentalism and environmental justice, techno-idealism, infrastructure
  • Yelena Gluzman

    Yelena Gluzman

    Contact: egluzman@ucsd.edu

     

  • Angelo Haidaris

    Angelo Haidaris

    Contact: anhaidar@ucsd.edu

  • Jacob Hellman

    Jacob Hellman

    Contact: jhellman@ucsd.edu

  • Dorothy Howard

    Dorothy Howard

    Contact: dhoward@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: cognitive and material aspects of participation and work in information societies, post(de)colonial critiques of information production, social computing, feminist research methodologies, information activism, syndicalism, the history of volunteering, archives, and contemporary and digital art practices.
    dorothyhoward.com
  • Poyao Huang

    Poyao Huang

    Contact: poh001@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: Science and technology studies, feminism, queer studies, health communication.
  • Kerry Keith

    Kerry Keith

    Contact: kekeith@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: U.S systems of incarceration, carceral geographies, queer and feminist theories, biopolitics, and Marxism, prison abolitionism, the interplay of ideology, imagination, and landscape
  • Jungyoung Kim

    Jungyoung Kim

    Contact: juk028@ucsd.edu

  • Sookyong Ko

    Sookyong Ko

    Contact: sok105@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: Media theory, phenomenology, visual culture, visual semiotics, cultural studies, affect theory, emotional and sensual aspects of media interaction, theories on evolving media and human perception of information.
  • Olga Lazitski Torres

    Olga Lazitski Torres

    Contact: okovalev@ucsd.edu
    www.mediaendarkenment.com
    Media scholar and journalist studying media endarkenment - the process of media influence by which the intellectual level of media consumers and the number of informed citizens decrease
  • Andrew Lee

    Andrew Lee

    Contact: a9lee@ucsd.edu

  • Grant Leuning

    Grant Leuning

    Contact: gleuning@ucsd.edu

  • Yazhou Liu

    Yazhou Liu

    Contact: lyazhou@ucsd.edu

  • Kathryne Metcalf

    Kathryne Metcalf

    Contact: kymetcal@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: public science and the culture industry, popular conceptions of human genomics, biomedicalization. 
  • Corey Metcalfe

    Corey Metcalfe

    Contact: cmetcalf@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests:  Analog & digital games; pop culture; online platforms
  • Loreto Montero

    Loreto Montero

    Contact: lomonter@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: the relationship between media images and collective memory about the last decade in Chilean society
  • October Montoya

    October Montoya

    Contact: alj039@ucsd.edu

    Research Interests: Transgressive change-making methodologies, new media, digital and corporeal activisms, surveillance studies, queer and trans poetry/poetics, feminist science and technology studies, social movements, resistance labor(s), and visual culture

  • Joseph Moreno

    Joseph Moreno

    Contact: j8moreno@ucsd.edu

  • Teresa Naval

    Teresa Naval

    Contact: tnaval@ucsd.edu

  • Manel Palos

    Manel Palos

    Contact: mapalos@ucsd.edu

  • Erika Ramirez-Mayoral

    Erika Ramirez-Mayoral

    Contact: emr015@ucsd.edu

  • Alanna Reyes

    Alanna Reyes

    Contact: avr009@ucsd.edu
    www.alannareyes.com
    Research Interests: (dis)ability, technology, culture
    examples: technology in the media, superhero narratives and disability, transnational disability studies, digital game design & culture, learning/training via digital gaming, embodied storytelling, laboratory education and knowledge production

  • Pepe Rojo

    Pepe Rojo

    Contact: jjrojo@ucsd.edu

  • Paula Santa Rosa Siqueira Mendes

    Paula Santa Rosa Siqueira Mendes

    Contact: psantaro@ucsd.edu

  • Monika Sengul-Jones

    Monika Sengul-Jones

    Contact: msengul@ucsd.edu
    Science Studies
    www.monikasengul.com
    Research Interests: gender and labor in contemporary cultural/media industries, freelance English-language content writers, Internet “content farm” platforms such as Demand Media Studios, professional blogging, social media, and consumer-interest magazines
  • Akshita Sivakumar

    Akshita Sivakumar

    Contact: asivakum@ucsd.edu
    https://akshitasivakumar.com/
    Interests: Simulations and 3D modeling practices | diffuse objects | representation and situated practices in interdisciplinary design | indeterminacy | participatory design technology | f/open source software for creative production | visual and material culture | feminist technoscience
  • Sophie Staschus

    Sophie Staschus

    Contact: sstaschu@ucsd.edu

     

  • Riley Taitingfong

    Riley Taitingfong

    Contact: rtaiting@ucsd.edu 
    Research Interests: community based participatory research (CBPR), health, indigenous knowledge, postcolonial theory, and disability studies, Pacific Islander communities in Southern California and their collaborate culturally-specific health interventions
  • Shaun Terry

    Shaun Terry

    Contact: shterry@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: cultural studies (Birmingham School and Frankfurt School), continental philosophy/critical theory, rituals and performance studies, visual culture, poetics, aesthesis/aesthetics, political economy, fascisms, autonomist political movements, vulnerability, memory, Walter Benjamin, Michel Foucault, Judith Butler
  • Nicholas Turner

    Nicholas Turner

    Contact: ndturner@ucsd.edu
    Artist, digital entertainment producer and an academic late bloomer.
    Research Interests: the structure and mechanics of power within corporate global entertainment, imagined utopian economies and geographies such as a decolonized, anti-racist, anti-discriminatory entertainment industry; post nation-state political organization, collective and indigenous rights, narrative ownership, and global development. 
  • Veronica Uribe del Aguila

    Veronica Uribe del Aguila

    Science Studies
    Feminist Labor Lab
    Contact: vuribede@ucsd.edu
    http://www.veronicauribea.com/
    Research Interests:  intersection between critical geography, design, labor, and feminist/ decolonial STS
  • Jonathan Walton

    Jonathan Walton

    Contact: jwalton@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests:  institutions of social control, particularly in China, and their relationship to international discourses and practices of crisis management and policing.
  • Elisabeth Wiering

    Elisabeth Wiering

    Contact: ewiering@ucsd.edu

  • Linnea Zeiner

    Linnea Zeiner

    Contact: lzeiner@ucsd.edu
    Research Interests: grunge, punk, Mixed Reality Pedagogy/Design, Digital Humanities Pedagogy/Design, girls’ studies, Sci-fi/Pop Dystopias, 19th-20th Century U.S. History